Interview: Gertjan Biasino


Isadora User Gertjan Biasino tell us about working with Isadora, processing, quartz and how they are being put to use in projects such as Atelier Oerol and Nr. 10….

Could you tell us a little bit about yourself? Would you class yourself as a performer, technician, director or other?

I am Gertjan Biasino; I studied audiovisual art in Sint-Lukas Brussels, where I specialized in combining film with other media. After I graduated in 2010 I kept on making hybrid forms between audiovisual media and life performance. Next to my own projects, I work for different artists to realize their works. (as programmer, video operator, stage designer, performer,…)

What projects have you been working on lately?

Beside smaller projects for others I’m currently working on 2 projects of my own.

One project is for the “Oerol Festival” June 15th to 24th. This is a festival for cite specific theatre. I am part of a two-year program called “Atelier Oerol“. This year we make a study for a bigger work next year.

My project for this year is called “Nr. 11: A”. It is an installation/performance during the night. The main aspect is the dark adaptation of the eye. This experimental installation/performance investigates how an individual experiences the adaptation of the eye to a dark environment. Some research can be seen on the Oerol site (in Dutch)

 

The second project premiers end of august. It is called “Nr. 10: B” and is the second part of a triptych performance series: project “Nr. 10”

This is a project about rituals. In ancient times mankind wanted to control the unintelligible nature with rituals. But what role can rituals perform today? What was/is the use of the sham control of a ritual? And what role can technology play in a modern ritual?

The performances are based on the Aztec human sacrifices. A small film of the 4h performance can be found on myspace.

What has been the highlight of career?

As I am just beginning, everything I did where highlights for me.

How would you describe your artistic style?

I think it can best be described as a hybrid form between different media, where every media has an equivalent role to the end result. In every work interaction plays an important role, therefore almost all of my works are live performances or installations with a live element.

What technology do you tend to use?

Technology plays a big role in my work. In almost all projects I use different technologies that always serve as a support.

Of these technologies I think I use Isadora 70% of the time. I combine it with processing, quartzcomposer, matrox box for different beamers, lanbox for dmx control, arduino to control other electronics, kinect,… But the main technology is Isadora where I can control every live aspect of the performances.

How has the Troika Tronix Isadora software helped you with your work?

I think it has played a big part in my development to the work I make now. In my second year on Sint-Lukas I wanted to make a live video performance, but I really didn’t know how. And little by little I started to learn how to use Isadora. Because it is so simple to use I could experiment a lot with it. By trying and experimenting I also developed ideas on how to use technology in art.  And theories on interaction with the live audience or the actors/musicians… All these ideas I use now in my work and I am still developing new ones.

Describe Isadora in three words:

Simple, (a word for the fact that it has many possibilities), quick and flexible!

Do you have a website: http://www.myspace.com/gertjanbiasino, (website is under construction)

What to contact Gertjan?: info.gbiasino[at]gmail[dot]com

Leave a Reply

