Isadora Interview: Matthew Haber


I would like to Introduce Matthew Haber. I have been in contact with Matthew for quite a while now, we often email each other about various bits and bobs and I am always blown away with what he has done, what he is doing and what he is going to be doing!

In my opinion he is ahead of the game and is always thinking of the next creative step! His new ‘Lab 254’ looks very promising and I can’t wait to see what he and the team deliver.

Find out more about him…

Could you tell us a little bit about yourself?
I am a Boston/New York based artist/designer/programmer.

Would you class yourself as a performer, technician, director or other?
I think I describe myself on my website as an “interdisciplinary artist and maker”, which I would characterize as a pretty accurate if vague description. I am most often listed in programs as a projection designer or programmer.

What projects have you been working on lately?
Recently, my efforts have been focused on the technologies that we work with. Specifically, I have been work on some projects with the goal of making interactivity much easier in both live performance and installation. I have also designed a couple smaller shows recently and I have an interactive installation opening in a gallery in Boston at the beginning of May.

What has been the highlight of career?
Definitely nothing that I have done so far.

How would you describe your artistic style?
Definitely still being developed. My theatre work has often been on shows with a strong documentary/historical bent (think Laremie Project, etc) so I continually find myself gravitating towards a textural collaging of archival content. I am very interested in exploring the interactions between light, form, and shadow so my installation and dance work often speaks to this.

What technology do you tend to use?
I do a lot of my performance work in Dataton Watchout and, to a lesser degree, QLab and Isadora. My installation work and interactive performance design is almost exclusively in IsadoraCore supplemented by Quartz Composer as needed. I am also a big fan of MadMapper in conjunction with Isadora.

How has the Troika Tronix Isadora software helped you with your work?
I love Isadora because it allows me to work much more fluidly than I can with a more typical workflow where I am creating content in one set of programs, rendering it out, and then cuing it in some sort of content-delivery system. I also, find that Isadora is a much better match for the way that I think compared to some similar programs such as MAX so I can work in it extremely efficiently.

Describe Isadora in three words:
Versatile, Extensible, Experimentation

Feel free to add any extra comments here:
I mentioned my work with interactivity technology above and you can follow what is going on with that here: www.lab254technologies.com

Do you have a website:
www.matthewhaber.com

If you want people to contact you you can also provide an email address here:
matthewhaber{ @ }matthewhaber[dot]com

Leave a Reply

