The ‘Inside Range’ Actor


I have decided to do a little post about this Isadora actor as I use it a lot and is particularly useful in controlling events.

I often find that clients/students need to play a video but then need effects/sounds/switches/other ‘events’ to happen at a particular time; for instance at 1:33 we need the blur actor turned on and then at 1:55 we need it turned off again.

There are two simple ways of doing this 1) By a human 2) Automated.

1) I will not describe the first way as I literally mean – A human triggers the event via keyboard/mouse/other trigger, so…

2) By automation. Not quite the same as automation in Logic/Cubase/Pro Tools etc but similar. This is how you do it…

The movie player gives you a reading of “0 – 100” (as a percentage) to show the position of the video. The longer the video the slower this reading will do, the quicker the video the quicker the values will travel from “0 – 100”.

So, below you can see a loaded video in the ‘Movie Player’ actor and the ‘Inside Range’ actor…

Now lets say at a particular point in the video I wanted to turn ‘Motion Blur’ on. First I find the actor in question and wire it all together.

NOTE: The motion blur will be on by default. This is the same for most effects but not all. We can see that it’s on because it says ‘off’ under the ‘Bypass’ field, seen below.

Now we want to turn the bypass ON as we don’t want this effect on until we say so.( – any time you require.)

Turn this bypass field ON, shown below:

[NOTE: you can also type inside the field ON or OFF]

Now, the ‘Inside Range’ actor…. seen below with nothing changed.

This the default information about the actor…

I have watched my video and know that when the video reaches 33% I want the blur actor to be turned ON. You will need to watch the video and find the point at which you need an effect/trigger/sound to be triggered. The movie player does not output time, only a percentage. This means you need to sit and watch the video and work out the percentage value.

I have also decided I want the effect to be turned OFF at 45% of the way through the video. So this is what I would do..

Hopefully you can see clearly that the low number is 33 and the high number is 45 – this is the ‘Inside Range’!

Once wired up, like below, the actor will send a trigger to say when it has entered and then exited this range:

I have added the toggle actor to switch between On & Off and this then does what I needed.

Here are a few screen shots using the same principle but for other ‘events’…




9 thoughts on “The ‘Inside Range’ Actor

  1. Do you know of anyway to use two of these actors (or something similar) in conjunction to activate a single trigger? I’m trying to use X and Y data from ‘Eyes’ to play sounds when the ranges are met in both values simultaneously.

    By the way thanks very much for your motion tracking tutorials they’ve been a huge help to me!

    • Hi,

      Do you mean you want a trigger to occur when both XY are the same? Or when two separate X and Y values are set?

      Either way, I would check out the rows and columns feature of Eyes. You can use a comparator actor to say that when a person walks “into/on” column 16 it trigger a sound clip.

      Hope this helps.

      • Thanks for replying so quickly

        I meant when two seperate X and Y values are set. I’ve been trying to use the hit col and hit row fields on Eyes. So for example if hit col = 53 and hit row = 13 that would trigger start on a sound player.

        Thanks
        Rhamy

      • Sorry I thought it would also be worth mentioning that I really would need the actor to accept range values as opposed to float, I wanted certain areas of the stage to produce those sounds as specific values such as 53 and 13 would make it far too difficult to trigger the sounds.

        Thanks
        Rhamy

    • Here is my thinking…

      Copy and paste this in a new window:

      Its not ideal, but this way you could re-trigger two new values into the eyes watcher, this gives you two triggers but not simultaneously. So its quite limiting. What we really need is like a Comparator++ actor haha. Maybe I can request this as a feature to Mark Coniglio.

      • I just tried it out there and it works although it’s quite difficult to trigger depending on what the col and row values are. Also the trigger delay appears to be resetting the values in the watch col and row fields, are you aware of anyway to prevent this?

        Thanks again
        Rhamy

  2. Well I have found a way to trigger a sample once, by using the watch row and column in Eyes. Its a slightly long winded way of doing it but you could set up the first trigger and then you would have to set up a trigger value to push new values into eyes. I don’t really like the idea of doing this…

    I am still looking into though… bare with me.

Leave a Reply

